Contact us

* Required fields

Contact module

* Required fields

Passion & Vision


As artisan coffee importers and roasters, our mission is to make people happy. Handcrafting exceptional products is our passion. Our respect for the art of roasting and close to four decades of experience is how we came to develop our very own TAG roast. Throughout this journey, we've also witnessed the injustices faced by growers. Our desire to improve their quality of life is why we work in a socially responsible way and also the force behind our Humaniterra Foundation, designed to aid local and foreign communities.

A humanitarian and entrepreneur, Carlo Granito is a passionate man who’s dedicated his life to developing the perfect cup of coffee.

Part of his success can be attributed to hard work, perseverance and his innate sense of taste.

How did he develop these qualities? In his childhood, surely. Carlo is the youngest of four children. His father of Italian decent, flourished as an importer of fine Italian foods. He also conveyed to his son the values of hard work and a love of quality products.

Carlo’s success is also largely due to you seeing as his main motivation has always been to restore coffee’s nobility and to do so with the utmost respect of those who grow it and those who consume it.

As a coffee drinker himself, Carlo was often disappointed by the quality of what was offered. He often preferred to go without coffee rather than have to drink a cup full of bitterness or little flavor.

Thanks to his wife Julie’s unwavering support and encouragement and his strong desire to offer the perfect cup, Carlo was inspired to launch Terra Coffee. It was the late 70’s and at only 23 years of age, he was determined to conduct his business with honesty and a simple goal of inspiring happiness.

As soon as he could, Carlo began visiting coffee farmers and importing his own green coffee. He then developed a roasting technique which he later named T.A.G. (Torrefazione Artigianale Granito). Refined over time, this special technique is designed to reveal the very best of each bean.

Driven by his spirit for adventure, Carlo launched Ariel Tea two years later to offer an extensive collection of specialty teas and creative blends.



Immersed in the coffee and tea world since early childhood, Aimee, Carlo’s youngest daughter, has traveled to Europe and Asia to deepen her knowledge. She runs their retail coffee shop in Montreal and ensures the complete satisfaction of consumers and business partners alike.

Carlo is also surrounded by his two sons-in-law: John August, Master Roaster, Instructor/Professional Barista and Quality Supervisor, and Stéphane, Business Development Director (Specialty Market) and Green Coffee Importer.



Terra Coffee and Tea

290 Port-Royal W. street
Montreal, QC
H3L 2B4

Local: 514-381-2571

Terra Coffee and Tea LTD - Copyright @ 2012TEL

Contactez nous

* Champs requis

Contact module






* Champs requis

Passion et vision

 

À titre d’importateur et de torréfieur de café artisanal, notre mission est de rendre les gens heureux. Créer des produits exceptionnels est notre passion. Notre suivi rigoureux de l’art de torréfaction et notre expérience de près de quatre décennies nous ont permis de développer notre propre torréfaction T.A.G. Tout au long de ce parcours, nous avons été témoins d’injustices subies par les cultivateurs. Pour améliorer leur qualité de vie, nous travaillons de façon responsable et nous avons mis sur pied notre Fondation Humaniterra qui a pour objectif d’aider les communautés locales et étrangères.



Humaniste et entrepreneur, Carlo Granito est un homme passionné qui a dédié sa vie à élaborer un café parfait à chaque tasse.

Sa réussite, il la doit à son travail, à sa persévérance et à son sens inné du goût.

Comment a –t-il développé ces qualités ? Dans son enfance, sûrement. Carlo Granito est le cadet d’une famille de quatre enfants. Son père, d’origine italienne, prospérait dans l’importation de produits d’épicerie fine italiens. Il lui a transmis la valeur du travail et l’amour des produits de qualité.

Mais sa réussite, c’est surtout à vous qu’il l’attribue car depuis ses débuts, il souhaite redonner au café ses lettres de noblesse et partager avec vous toutes ses richesses, et ce dans le plus grand respect du produit, de ceux qui le cultivent et de ceux qui le consomment.

En tant que grand consommateur de café, Carlo était déçu de la qualité de ceux qu’on lui servait. Il préférait même souvent s’en passer plutôt que de goûter à un trop plein d’amertume ou à un trop peu d’arômes.

C’est ainsi, avec le support et l’encouragement inébranlable de son épouse Julie, qu’il a décidé de démarrer Terra Café, pour élaborer un café parfait à chaque tasse. C’était vers la fin des années 1970. Il avait alors 23 ans, la volonté de mener ses affaires avec honnêteté et d’inspirer le bonheur, tout simplement. 

Dès qu’il l’a pu, Carlo a commencé à rencontrer des fermiers et à importer lui-même son café vert. Puis il a développé sa propre technique de torréfaction : T.A.G. (Torréfaction Artisanale Granito), une technique qu’il a affinée avec le temps pour vous révéler le meilleur de chaque café.

Poussé par le goût de l’aventure, deux ans après Carlo Granito lançait Thé Ariel. Grâce à son sens inné du goût et à son intransigeance sur la qualité, il a su très vite sélectionner les grands crus et inventer pour vous des mélanges aussi innovants que raffinés.


C’est aujourd’hui une histoire de famille

Plongée dans l’univers du café et du thé depuis son enfance, Aimée, la plus jeune fille de Carlo, a voyagé en europe et en asie pour approfondir ses connaissances sur les produits. Nez fin pour sélectionner les thés et les cafés, elle travaille avec dévouement et passion pour assurer la satisfaction complète des consommateurs et des partenaires d’affaires de l’entreprise familiale.

Carlo est aussi entouré de ses deux gendres : John, maître torréfieur T.A.G, barista (professionnel et instructeur) et superviseur de la qualité, et Stéphane, Directeur du développement et importateur de café vert.

 

 

 

 

Terra Café et Thé

290 Port-Royal O. 
Montréal, QC
H3L 2B4

1-800-268-3772
Local: 514-381-2571
EMAIL: sac@terracaf.ca

 
Terra Coffee and Tea LTD - Copyright @ 2012TEL