FREE OR REDUCED SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER 75$ (see details)

×

Registration

Profile Information

Login Data

or login

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!

Our TAG roast


 

Located behind our retail shop are hundreds of carefully stored green coffee bags from around the world. Beans originating from Guatemala, Peru, Nicaragua, Kenya, Brazil, Yemen, Indonesia, etc. One can only imagine the amazing journey they’ve undergone.

Grown and harvested with care by small groups of environmentally conscious growers, these beans have all of the qualities needed to produce great coffee.

As you reach the very end of our roasting facility, you'll find our Master Roaster John, carefully studying the coffees as they roast. This delicate stage is comparable to winemaking because like wine, coffee draws its richness from the land. Everything from soil, altitude, climate and harvest contribute to a coffee’s unique character, and just as you can destroy excellent grapes, a clumsy roast can easily ruin beautiful beans.

This is why our master roaster is taught to draw the complexities of a coffee’s origin, using Terra's very own TAG (Torrefazione Artigianale Granito) roasting technique. Developed over four decades of sourcing, roasting and cupping, TAG reveals flavor profiles like no other and does so, by ensuring complete caramelization of the natural sugars contained in the coffee beans.

Using all of his senses and extreme precision, John balances the heat and air flow that circulate amongst the beans and as soon as the aromas reach their pinnacle, he puts an end to the roasting process.

A process which fully relies on expertise, intuition, passion and consistency. A true art.

 

 
 

CONTACT FORM

Please fill out this form and we'll respond within one business day.
  • Maximum number of characters: 1000

* Required Fields

LIVRAISON GRATUITE OU RÉDUITE SUR COMMANDE DE PLUS DE 75$ (voir détails)

Notre torréfaction TAG


 

Quand vous entrez dans la fabrique de torréfaction, c’est déjà tout un voyage. Située juste derrière la boutique, elle garde précieusement des centaines de poches de grains verts provenant des quatre coins du monde. Une simple affiche vous révèle leur origine : Guatemala, Pérou, Kenya, Brésil, Yémen… Vous imaginez alors le parcours que ces grains ont déjà réalisé.

Cultivés et récoltés dans un très grand respect de l’environnement par des petits groupes de caféiculteurs, les grains ont déjà toutes les qualités nécessaires pour produire un bon café.

En poursuivant votre visite, tout au fond de la fabrique et à l’abri des regards, notre maître torréfieur John guette devant les tambours, l’évolution de la torréfaction. C’est une étape délicate, comparable à la vinification car il faut savoir que comme le vin, le café puise sa richesse de son terroir. La nature du sol, l’altitude, le climat, la récolte même, confèrent à chaque origine son caractère unique et comme on peut détruire d’excellents raisins, une torréfaction maladroite peut ruiner de magnifiques grains de café.

Mais chez Terra Café, le maître torréfieur a l’art de faire ressortir du café brut sa complexité et les arômes subtils liés à son origine grâce à la technique de torréfaction TAG (Torrefazione Artigianale Granito). Élaborée grâce à près de quatre décennies d’expertise en sélection de grains verts d’origine, en torréfaction et en dégustation, notre torréfaction TAG sait comme nulle autre révéler les grands crus car elle permet de griller le café d’origine unique au maximum du potentiel qu’il peut offrir, c’est-à-dire la caramélisation complète des sucres contenus dans ses grains.

Le geste précis et tous ses sens en éveil, John parvient à équilibrer la chaleur et le débit d’air qui circule parmi les grains de café dans le tambour. Et dès que les arômes atteignent leur summum, il arrête la torréfaction.

Ce procédé dépend d’une savante composition de présence d'esprit, de savoir-faire, de passion et d'intuition.

 

FORMULAIRE DE CONTACT

Veuillez svp remplir ce formulaire et nous vous répondrons d'ici un jour ouvrable.
  • Maximum number of characters: 1000

* Required Fields